Iran becomes a full member of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization

Shanghai Cooperation Organization Iran had joined as a member of SCO during the India-hosted virtual summit signifying the organisational’s continued growth in South India.

Iran Become the Member- India Response

Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi congratulated the Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi, who said that this membership will be helpful for showcasing the interest of its people to the world. With it, India also welcomed Belarus’ SCO membership, as indicated by the signing of the Memorandum of Obligations. As the current chairmanship of the SCO, India hosted the summit, where they chaired the virtual meeting, which included Chinese President Xi Jinping, Russian President Vladimir Putin, Pakistani Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif, and other leaders from SCO member states.

Iran Become the Member- Iran’s response

Iran President Raisi  thanked all the members of SCO and called for the use of the national currencies in trade among SCO member states and said “Relying on the experience of the past decades, it is now quite evident that, along with militarism, what forms the basis of the Western domination system has been the dominance of the dollar and, therefore, any attempt to shape a fair international system requires the removal of this instrument of dominance in intra-regional relations,” 

Shanghai Cooperation Organization

The SCO is a Eurasian political, economic and security organization and was founded in 2001. The current members of the organization are China, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, Russia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan with the observer countries being Afghanistan, Belarus, and Mongolia; the partner countries are Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Türkiye, and Sri Lanka.

Iran Become the Member

Which country becomes the 9th member of SCO?

. “The Islamic Republic of Iran becomes the 9th member of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization

How many countries are full members of the SCO today?

The SCO currently comprises eight Member States (China, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan), four Observer States interested in acceding to full membership (Afghanistan, Belarus, Iran, and Mongolia) and six “Dialogue Partners” (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Turkey).