Rhino Task Force constituted by Bihar Government for the introduction of Rhino Conservation Scheme

Rhino Task Force in Bihar Recently, Bihar constituted the ‘Rhino Task Force’ in  ‘Valmiki Tiger Reserve’ in West Champaran District. As per National Rhino Conservation Scheme, The Valmiki Tiger Reserve had been chosen, and at present there is only one rhino in VTR and 14 in Patna Zoo., which aims at increasing the rhino-bearing areas in VTR by 5% over the next two years, while shifting of rhino to identifying areas in the reserve, such as Ganauli and Madanpur, to provide more space for breeding and multiplication of conserved species. The VTR was established as the 18th tiger reserve in 1990 and ranked fourth in the density of the tiger population.


Rhino Task Force constituted

As per recent data from wildlife, around 75% of the entire world population of one-horned rhinoceros is in India, where more than 93% of the Indian Rhino population lives in just one protected area in Assam. After the submission of the Department of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (DEFCC) report, Additional Principal Chief Conservator of Forests and Chief Wildlife Warden P K Gupta told to media that After the reintroduction of the Rhino Conservation scheme, the number of rhinos will substantially increase in the VTR. VTR has been selected as one of the potential sites under the National Rhino Conservation strategy where rhinos may be brought from other reserves in the country. “. At present, VTR occupies a core area of 909.86 sq km of the Valmiki Sanctuary located in the West Champaran district of Bihar. population, established at the rivers Gandak and Masan flow through this area.

Rhino Task Force constituted by Bihar

Where is the project Rhino being implemented?

Project Rhino was launched in 2005 to protect and conserve the rhinos

Who started Project Rhino?

Project Rhino or the Indian Rhino Vision 2020 was launched in 2005 in an effort to attain a 3000 population of wild rhinos in Assam distributed over seven of its protected areas by the year 2020.